• Becoming a member is completely free!

• Join the community and start contributing to a large source of sea angling information.
    • Become an active member and you can enter member exclusive competitions.

REGISTER FOR FREE HERE

"Fishing knives" and the law re knives in public places

wobert

Reaction score
Favourite Fishing
Shore
I'm a newbie considering my kit and it occurs to me that using a common type of "fishing knife" for, say, bleeding a fish at catch-site would actually be illegal (blade over 3" in a public place). Any thoughts/advice please ?

Cobblers.

It is perfectly acceptable to have such a knife with you when its purpose is one for which you can say is reasonable.
As a hobby catching fish for the table is what we (at least some of us ) do. You could just as easily say that Butchers or Chefs shouldnt carry knives to and from work, when they had been sharpened at home.

Easily found ….. https://www.gov.uk/buying-carrying-knives

Dave

Hi 👋
My guess is, that you are not walking the streets with a knife in your hand. It should be kept in its sheath in with your fishing gear and using it for this purpose. I’m a chef by trade and sometimes I carry 10-15 different knives in a proper knife case to different jobs. If I were to get pulled over by the police I have a valid reason to carry the knives and they are safely stored.

It would be the same if you had a shotgun and you were going clay pigeon shooting. You would have gun and shells in different bags and a shotgun license. Just for your information, I am not a solicitor.

Cobblers.

It is perfectly acceptable to have such a knife with you when its purpose is one for which you can say is reasonable.
As a hobby catching fish for the table is what we (at least some of us ) do. You could just as easily say that Butchers or Chefs shouldnt carry knives to and from work, when they had been sharpened at home.

Easily found ….. https://www.gov.uk/buying-carrying-knives

Dave
Thanks for the useful link.